The T. H. White Collection

The University of Texas at Austin
Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center

The archives of Terence Hanbury White (1906-1964), the English novelist, were purchased by the Ransom Center between 1967 and 1969 and include manuscript materials for 108 separately titled novels, short stories, articles, poems, broadcasts, and reviews. Among the manuscripts are The Age of Scandal, The Book of Beasts, The Elephant and the Kangaroo, England Have My Bones, The Godstone and the Blackymor, The Goshawk, The Master, Mistress Masham's Repose, all five books of The Once and Future King, The Scandalmonger, The Witch in the Wood, and You Can't Keep a Good Man Down. These are accompanied by 6 journals dating from 1938 to 1963 totaling 1,051 pages and 9 notebooks totaling 1,200 pages.

Letters by White total 304 including 229 to David Garnett. Among the 420 letters to White are 27 from Sydney Cockerell and 134 from David Garnett.

Over 400 volumes from White's library are present, many with his marginal comments and/or extensive notes; 11 volumes have drawings by White. Most of the books are works of nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature and history, but there are 30 volumes dating from the sixteenth- to the eighteenth-century.

Original works of art by White include 24 oils on canvas or board, 12 charcoal and pen-and-ink sketches for ‘Macbeth the Knife’, and 32 other pencil, ink, charcoal, and pastel drawings.

Special thanks to Richard W. Oram for the above information. (used with permission)
[University of Texas at Austin]

England Have My Bones: For the Reader of the Works of T. H. White
[Home] [Books] [FAQ] [E-Mail] [Links]
Unless otherwise noted, entire contents 1996, J. Moulder and M. Schaefer. All rights reserved.
Revised Saturday, 28-Sep-2002 22:12:53 CDT.